Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a Record Store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:
  • Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
  • Purchase now from a local store that sells online
  • Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

1. Find a local store

(Please call first)
Search by zip code: Go

Local stores

DISCLAIMER: there are a lot of independent record stores that participate in Record Store Day. Not all of them will choose to participate in all promotions, or carry all releases. Just because a store is listed here does NOT mean it will have the goodie or record you are looking for. That said, find a store near you and check with them directly. It is always a good idea to be BFFs with your neighborhood record store.


Dirty South (Dig)

Dirty South (Dig)

Artist: Drive-By Truckers

2. Buy Online from a Local Retailer

NOTE: This list of stores are those nearest you from whom you can order this item online without a lot of steps. We’ve listed the closest ones to you, even if they are states away. Thanks for supporting indie record stores.


3. Buy Digitally from

Digital Album: $9.99

Similar Items

Title Format
The Dirty South Digital
* = Digital Samples available for this Item.

Dirty South (Dig)
Dirty South (Dig)

Artist: Drive-By Truckers
1. Where the Devil Don't Stay
2. Tornadoes
3. Day John Henry Died, The
4. Puttin' People on the Moon
5. Carl Perkins' Cadillac
6. Sands of Iwo Jima, The
7. Danko/Manuel
8. Boys From Alabama, The
9. Cottonseed
10. Buford Stick, The
11. Daddy's Cup
12. Never Gonna Change
13. Lookout Mountain
14. Goddamn Lonely Love

Format: CD
Label: New West
Rel. Date: 08/24/2004
UPC: 607396605828


"Alabama rockers the Drive-By Truckers are today's premier purveyors of Southern mythology, of legends mined from a place where kudzu vines constantly terrorize the collard patch amid threats of world war, death, and taxes. For the group's sixth album, the mood is decidedly darker than on earlier efforts: Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley, the Truckers' songwriters, rival Flannery O'Connor and Carson McCullers' gothic storytelling skills, wielding tales of Sam Phillips and Buford Pusser as easily as the latter brandished his big stick.

While the opening track, ""Where the Devil Don't Stay,"" wholeheartedly channels Steve Earle's ""Copperhead Road,"" other songs overlay lyrics worthy of Tony Joe White with chunky, clanging riffs that could've been conceived in a railyard. On ""Boys From Alabama,"" an organ swirls through the mix as guitars bristle and drummer Brad Morgan pounds out a metallic beat; for ""Puttin' People on the Moon,"" Hood takes on politics in an odd growl as the band simmers, then soars, behind him.

Hood's solo album, Killers and Stars, a set of home recordings cut in his kitchen in 2001, breaks down his creative technique. As a historic document, Killers, which captured Hood at an admitted low point, proves invaluable. The lyrics-not always delivered directly into a mic-are often difficult to catch, but powerhouse songs like ""Frances Farmer"" and ""The Assassin"" succeed nonetheless. The only drawback is Hood's own voice, as nasal and broken as Neil Young after a carton of Camels.


Portions of website licensed by MediaNet