RECORD STORE DAY 2018 > Flamin' Groovies - Grease

Flamin' Groovies



Release Date: 4/21/2018
Label: Jungle Records
Quantity: 900
Release type: 'RSD First' Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



One of America's greatest, most influential, and legendary cult bands, who came out of the San Francisco area in 1965. They were part of the flower-power scene but their music, 3-minute power-pop blasts, wasn't. Despite playing the wrong kind of music at the wrong time, and not looking the part by sporting British Invasion mop-top haircuts, they played great greasy, bluesy rock'n'roll music which has sustained a career for three decades. Their 1968 self-produced 'Supersnazz' was snapped up by Epic, then the classic albums 'Flamingo' ('70), and 'Teenage Head' ('71) appeared on Kama Sutra.
In 1973, after a UK single on UA, they issued the launch single 'Grease' for SKYDOG RECORDS, run by Parisian Marc Zermati from his Open Market record shop. Followed up by 'More Grease' in '74 and a third Skydog single in '77, the punk era then brought a new appreciative audience and a hit on Sire, the classic 'Shake Some Action'. Later, a further final Skydog project came in 1981, when they recorded at Phil Spector's Gold Star Studios, remaking 'River Deep Mountain High' in the same room as Ike & Tina's original.
This singles collection, mostly taken from their early 70's heyday, is packaged with original 'Grease' artwork by comix artist Vidal. The double-LP comes in a gatefold sleeve, with notes by Skydog's Marc Zermati. It also features previously unseen 1970's colour photos discovered in the Skydog archives.
The album has been remastered, and with some tracks produced by Dave Edmunds at Rockpile Studios and others recorded at Spector's Gold Star Studios, 'Grease' is a mix of Groovie originals and classic pop covers and a unique spotlight into this period in their lengthy career.

River Deep Mountain High; So Much In Love; And Your Bird Can Sing; She Donít Care About Time; Do I Love You; Sweet Little RockíníRoller; Slow Death; Let Me Rock; Dog Meat; Jumping Jack Flash; Blues For Phylis; Canít Explain; Little Queenie; Feel A Whole Lot Better; Paint It Black; Shake Some Action. 16 tracks