RECORD STORE DAY 2018 > Latin Playboys - Latin Playboys

Latin Playboys

Latin Playboys


Release Date: 4/21/2018
Format: LP
Label: Rhino Records
Release type: 'RSD First' Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



Self-titled debut album of experimental band Latin Playboys. First time on vinyl. Latin Playboys is a musical group comprising David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez, Mitchell Froom and Tchad Blake, active in the 1990s. The band began with a series of demo recordings made by Hidalgo on a home cassette tape 4-track machine. The demos were intended for Hidalgo's main group, Los Lobos, but producer/keyboardist Froom thought the demos were interesting enough on their own to justify a new band. With Los Lobos member Pérez, and Froom's frequent production partner Blake, Latin Playboys was formed.

The group released two albums, Latin Playboys, in 1994, and Dose, in 1999. The songs "Manifold de Amour" and "Forever Night Shade Mary," both from the 1994 self-titled debut album, are featured on the soundtrack album for the 1995 film Desperado.

1 Viva La Raza   2 Ten Believers   3 Chinese Surprize  4  Mira! 5  Manifold De Amour 6  New Zandu 7  Rudy's Party 8 If  9 Same Brown Earth 10 Lagoon 11  Gone 12 Crayon Sun 13  Pink Steps 14  Forever Night Shade Mary