BLACK FRIDAY 2018 > Eric Dolphy - Musical Prophet: The Expanded N.Y. Studio Sessions (1962-1963)

Eric Dolphy

Musical Prophet: The Expanded N.Y. Studio Sessions (1962-1963)


Event: BLACK FRIDAY 2018
Release Date: 11/23/2018
Format: 3 x LP
Label: Resonance Records
Quantity: 3000
Release type: RSD Exclusive Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



Musical Prophet: The Expanded N.Y. Studio Sessions (1962-1963) is the first official release of previously-unissued Eric Dolphy studio recordings in over 30 years! This album contains the complete studio album tracks from Conversations and Iron Man, originally produced by Alan Douglas-- most well-known for his association with Jimi Hendrix, but who also worked on classic jazz albums such as Money Jungle with Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus and Max Roach — plus nearly 85 minutes of bonus material from the 1962 and 1963 studio session in New York City. The limited-edition deluxe 3LP set features jazz greats such as saxophonists Clifford Jordan and Sonny Simmons, trumpeter Woody Shaw, bassist Richard Davis and NEA Jazz Master vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson. The exhaustive booklet includes rare and previously unpublished photos and memorabilia; essays by jazz scholar Robin D.G. Kelley and co-producer/flutist James Newton; interviews with Pulitzer Prize-winning jazz icon Henry Threadgill, saxophonist/bass clarinetist David Murray  and acclaimed flutist Nicole Mitchell; plus much more! This is truly the holy grail of long lost Eric Dolphy recordings. Mastered by the legendary Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios in Hollywood, CA and pressed at Record Technology, Inc. (RTI). 

LP1 SIDE A 01 Jitterbug Waltz 07:18 02 Music Matador 09:37 03 Love Me – 03:22 SIDE B 01 Alone Together – 13:36 02 Muses (Previously Unissued) 07:39 03 Muses (Previously Unissued) 08:31
LP2 SIDE C 01 Iron Man 09:14 02 Mandrake 04:47 03 Come Sunday 06:28 04 Burning Spear 11:59 SIDE D 01 Ode to C.P. 08:04 02 Jim Crow (Previously Unissued) 15:02
LP3 SIDE E 01 Music Matador (Alternate Take) 08:05 02 Love Me (Alternate Take 1) 02:27 03 Love Me (Alternate Take 2) 03:43 04 Alone Together (Alternate Take) 12:14 SIDE F: 27:19 01 Jitterbug Waltz 09:36 02 Mandrake (Alternate Take) 06:48 03 Burning Spear (Alternate Take) 10:31