RSD DROPS 2020 - August 29 > Various Artists - STUDIO ONE Rockers

Various Artists



Event: RSD DROPS 2020 - August 29
Release Date: 8/29/2020
Format: 2 x LP
Label: Soul Jazz Records
Quantity: 1000
Release type: RSD Drops 2020 Aug 29th

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



RSD 'First' Aug

Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of Reggae music. The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field and has become the essential introduction to reggae fans throughout the world. Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks ("Phoenix City"), Rocksteady ("Feel Like Jumping"), Roots music ("Truth and Rights"), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more. Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn's legendary "No, No, No" to classics such as Horace Andy's "Skylarking" and Marcia Griffith's "Feel Like Jumping".

Soul Jazz Records is releasing this 20th anniversary edition of their classic Studio One Rockers on Record Store Day-exclusive green vinyl + download code. This new edition is a one-off pressing exclusively for Record Store Day.

SIDE A: 1.Sound Dimension – Real Rock 2. Marcia Griffiths – Feel Like Jumping 3. Freddy McGregor – Bobby Babylon 4. Horace Andy – Skylarking
SIDE B: 1. Lennie Hibbert – Village Soul 2. Brentford All-Stars – Greedy G 3. Johnny Osbourne – Truth And Rights 4. Ernest Ranglin – Surfin’
SIDE C: 1. Michigan & Smiley – Eye Of Danger 2. Dawn Penn – No, No, No 3. The Skatalites – Phoenix City
SIDE D: 1. Prince Jazzbo – Crabwalking 2. Jackie Mittoo – Hot Milk 3. Lone Ranger – Badder Dan Dem 4. Credric Brooks – Ethiopia