back to top

RSD DROPS 2021 > Various Artists - Rough Guide To Blues Behind Bars

Various Artists

Rough Guide To Blues Behind Bars


Event: RSD DROPS 2021
Release Date: 6/12/2021
Format: LP
Label: World Music Network
Quantity: 950
Release type: RSD Drops 2021 Jun 12th


June Limited Run

Since the early days of the blues, the jailhouse has long been the subject of many a sad tale. From first-hand accounts of a prisoner's life to the unjust trials of a cruel judge, this classic collection charts the troubled influence of the penitentiary on the blues.

Side A
01 Bukka White: Parchman Farm Blues
02 Blind Blake: He's In The Jailhouse Now
03 Blind Lemon Jefferson: Prison Cell Blues
04 Kokomo Arnold: Chain Gang Blues
05 Sam Collins: The Jail House Blues
06 Cannon's Jug Stompers: Prison Wall Blues
07 Peg Leg Howell: Ball And Chain Blues

Side B
01 Fred McMullen: Dekalb Chain Gang
02 Furry Lewis: Judge Harsh Blues
03 Memphis Minnie & Kansas Joe: Jailhouse Trouble Blues
04 Rube Lacey: Mississippi Jail House Groan
05 Bessie Smith: Jail House Blues
06 Texas Alexander: Penitentiary Moan Blues