RSD DROPS 2022 - June 18 > Steve Hackett - The Tokyo Tapes

Steve Hackett

The Tokyo Tapes


Event: RSD DROPS 2022 - June 18
Release Date: 6/18/2022
Format: 3 x LP
Label: Esoteric Antenna
Quantity: 1500
Release type: RSD Exclusive Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



June 18th

A new limited edition re-mastered 3LP set exclusive to Record Store Day 2022 of Steve Hackett’s legendary “Tokyo Tapes” featuring John Wetton (King Crimson), Chester Thompson (Genesis, Frank Zappa), Ian McDonald (King Crimson) & Julian Colbeck
• Recorded live in Tokyo in 1996
• With three additional studio tracks
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios
• On white vinyl with printed inner bags

What would happen if occasional members of Genesis, King Crimson, Asia, Yes, Frank Zappa & Weather Report all got together to form a unique team for just one night?" - Such an event did take place in December 1996 in Tokyo, Japan when Steve Hackett gathered together a group featuring JOHN WETTON (Bass / Vocals), IAN McDONALD (Flute / Sax / Guitar / Keyboards / Vocals), CHESTER THOMPSON (Drums) and JULIAN COLBECK (Keyboards / Vocals) to perform a wonderful set that featured classic Genesis, King Crimson and Hackett solo tracks such as "Watcher of the Skies", "Firth of Fifth", "The Court of the Crimson King", Shadow of the Hierophant", "Los Endos" and many more. Esoteric Antenna are pleased to announce the first ever triple LP vinyl release of "THE TOKYO TAPES" exclusively for Record Store Day 2022. It includes a studio track not featured on the first release of the album, a version of Bob Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower" by STEVE HACKETT & JOHN WETTON, along with two studio tracks featured on the original 1997 CD release. This Record Store Day limited edition of "Tokyo Tapes" is the ultimate version of this classic live album.

Side One:

1. Watcher of the Skies
2. Riding the Colossus
3. Firth of Fifth

Side Two:

1. Battle Lines
2. Camino Royale
3. The Court of the Crimson King
Side Three:

1. Horizons
2. Walking Away from Rainbows
3. Heat of the Moment
4. In That Quiet Earth
5. Vampyre With a Healthy Appetite

Side Four:

1. I Talk to the Wind
2. Shadow of the Hierophant
3. Los Endos
Side Five:

1. Black Light
2. The Steppes
3. I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)

Side Six:

1. Firewall (studio recording)
2. The Dealer (studio recording)
3. All Along the Watchtower (studio recording)