RECORD STORE DAY 2024 > Golden Earring - The Cut Sessions

Golden Earring

The Cut Sessions


Release Date: 4/20/2024
Format: 2 x LP
Label: Music on Vinyl
Quantity: 1000
Release type: RSD Limited Run / Regional Focus Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



Originally meant as a “goodbye album,” their sixteenth studio record, Cut, marked Golden Earring’s comeback in 1982. The album’s huge success, both artistically and commercially, heralded a new period for the band. Both the album and the single “Twilight Zone” topped the charts in their home country, The Netherlands, while in the United States the single – thanks to MTV’s heavy rotation – reached the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100 in Spring 1983. Golden Earring also performed 40 shows in two months across the United States.
Exclusively for Record Store Day 2024, The Cut Sessions are available for the very first time, offering outtakes, raw mixes, and alternative versions of this landmark album. Also included are the very first studio recordings of “Twilight Zone” and “Future,” recorded in November 1981, the 7-inch single edits of “Twilight Zone.” “The Devil Made Me Do It,” and B-sides “King Dark” and “Shadow Avenue.”
All tracks have been remastered from the original master tapes and was overseen by Red Bullet catalogue and band archivist Wouter Bessels.
The Cut Sessions is available as a worldwide limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on crystal clear, silver & blue marbled vinyl, housed in a gatefold jacket with two printed inner sleeves.

Side A
1. Future (early version 11-81)
2. Twilight Zone (early version 11-81)
3. Don't Be Silly (monitor mix 1-82)
4. Lost and Found (instrumental early mix 2-82)
Side B
1. Future (alternate lyrics version 2-82)
2. Twilight Zone (early mix 2-82)
3. Chargin' Up My Batteries (early mix 2-82)
4. King Dark (early mix 2-82)
Side C
1. Last of The Mohicans (early version 2-82)
2. Jazz - Shadow Avenue (basic track 3-82)
3. Secrets (early mix 5-82)
4. The Devil Made Me Do It (early mix 6-82)
5. Baby Dynamite (early mix 6-82)
Side D
1. King Dark
2. Shadow Avenue
3. The Devil Made Me Do It (7-inch US single censored version)
4. Twilight Zone (instrumental early mix 2-82)