Record Store Day 2012 > Thievery Corporation - Cosmic Game

Thievery Corporation

Cosmic Game


Event: Record Store Day 2012
Release Date: 4/21/2012
Format: Vinyl Box Set
Quantity: 500
Release type: 'RSD First' Release


Format: 4 x 12" clear vinyl

Previously released in 2005 on black vinyl, and limited to 500 copies.

Washington, DC-based sophisticates Thievery Corporation (producers Rob Garza and Eric Hilton) made several albums of superb down-tempo electronica prior to THE COSMIC GAME, and each release refined the duo's sensuous blend of deep, head-nodding beats, exotic world-music melodies, and lounge-ready atmospherics. This 2005 record builds on the strengths of the Corporation's previous albums, offering more stylish, club-targeted soundscapes to excellent effect. The series of all-star guests that parades through the album raises the Corporation's profile even higher.The Flaming Lips contribute additional instruments and vocals to the dreamy opener "Marching the Hate Machines (Into the Sun),"while the trip-hop-flavored "Revolution Solution" features Perry Farrell on vocals. Indian themes surface with vocalist Gunjan and sitar player Arjuna Pashwami on "Satyam Shivam Sundaram," and Verny Varela's singing gives the crowning touch to the bossa nova track "Ambicion Eterna." Even David Byrne makes an appearance, on the spacey mariachi boogaloo "The Heart's a Lonely Hunter." This fine mix of elements results in Thievery Corporation's most pop-oriented and accessible release, without sacrificing any of the group's ear-pleasing artistry.


Track Listing
1. Marching the Hate Machines (Into the Sun) featuring THE FLAMING LIPS
2. Warning Shots featuring Sleepy Wonder and Gunjan
3. The Revolution Solution featuring Perry Farrell
4. The Cosmic Game
5. Satyam Shivam Sundaram featuring Gunjan
6. Amerimacka featuring Notch
7. Ambicion Eterna (Eternal Ambition) featuring Verny
8. Pela Janela (Through the Window) featuring Gigi Re
9. Sol Tapado (The Covered Sun) featuring Patrick de
10. The Heart's a Lonely Hunter featuring David Byrne
11. Holographic Universe featuring Gunjan
12. Doors of Perception featuring Gunjan
13. Wires and Watchtowers featuring Sista Pat
14. The Supreme Illusion featuring Gunjan
15. The Time We Lost Out Way featuring Loulou
16. A Gentle Dissolve