Music Never Stopped: Roots Of The Grateful Dead - Music Never Stopped: Roots Of The Grateful Dead | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Side A
2. J. Obray Ramsey Rain and Snow
3. Merle Haggard Mama Tried
4. Dixie Cups Iko Iko
5. Rev. Gary Davis Samson ; Delilah
6. Cannon's Jug Stompers Big Railroad Blues
7. Marty Robbins El Paso
8. Side B
9. Bob Dylan It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
10. Charlie Patton Spoonful
11. Howlin' Wolf the Red Rooster
12. Chuck Berry the Promised Land
13. Henry Thomas Don't Ease Me in
14. Jimmy Reed Big Boss Man
15. Bobby "Blue" Bland Turn on Your Love Light ^1.16

More Info:

In their long career The Grateful Dead have been inspired by a stunning variety of American musical artists and traditions from blues to country to rock to folk - some of the most exciting and moving music ever recorded. Here are the original versions of The Dead's best loved cover tunes that surprise and delight with their musical depth, originality, and feeling. This collection has been lovingly compiled by a group of Dead insiders including Henry Kaiser, David Gans, and others with the enthusiastic support of The Dead itself. There are extensive notes included that give an overview detailing how the band came to cover each of these tunes and when they first played them in concert. The distinctive Robert Crumb cover artwork is an instant attraction and add to the collectibility of this release.