Arthur Bliss / Griller Quartet / Campoli,Alfredo - Sir Arthur Bliss: The Decca Originals (Aus) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Welcome the Queen, F.95
2. Things to Come, F.131
3. Things to Come, F.131
4. Things to Come, F.131
5. Things to Come, F.131
6. Things to Come, F.131
7. Things to Come, F.131
8. A Colour Symphony, F.106
9. A Colour Symphony, F.106 1
10. A Colour Symphony, F.106 1
11. A Colour Symphony, F.106 1
12. Introduction and Allegro, F.117 1
13. Baraza (From 'Men of Two Worlds', F.121) 1
14. Violin Concerto, F.111 1
15. Violin Concerto, F.111 1
16. Violin Concerto, F.111 1
17. Theme and Cadenza for Violin and Orchestra, F.120 1
18. String Quartet No. 2 in F minor, F.26 1
19. String Quartet No. 2 in F minor, F.26 2
20. String Quartet No. 2 in F minor, F.26 2
21. String Quartet No. 2 in F minor, F.26

More Info:

Bliss: The Decca Originals: a new collection of Decca recordings of Bliss's music, including tracks previously unreleased on Decca CD as well as the complete version of the Violin Concerto with Alfredo Campoli. The career of Arthur Bliss was launched in London in the 1920s with provocative ensemble pieces such as Rout, but it was established by the Colour Symphony which Sir Edward Elgar invited him to write for the Three Choirs Festival. Bliss gradually became an establishment figure, appointed Master of the Queen's Music in 1953 and a fluent maker of music celebrating Englishness (such as Welcome the Queen, 1954) at a time when notions of national identity were coming under scrutiny as never before. However, Bliss always retained something of the dashing provocateur about him, and his best music often had a terse and anguished quality - such as the Introduction and Allegro which filled out the first LP of the Colour Symphony, or the score he wrote for the H.G. Wells film, Things to Come, or the Second String Quartet. These premiere, composer-conducted and -supervised recordings from the 1950s are reissued here, along with a genuine rarity, Baraza: a concertante movement for piano and orchestra crafted from the film music he wrote for Men of Two Worlds. In 1955 Bliss responded to a BBC commission with his most accomplished work in the concerto genre, written with the violinist Alfredo Campoli in mind. The premiere enjoyed a great success, and a Decca recording soon followed. However, the composer remained dissatisfied by the length of the concerto, and having recorded it complete, ensured that certain cuts were made for the first release. This missing material has been restored and the whole recording newly remastered, presenting on CD for the first time the complete score of the Concerto as it's composer and first soloist recorded it.