JOSEPH SZIGETI - Joseph Szigeti: The Mercury Masters (Box) (Aus) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

JOSEPH SZIGETI - Joseph Szigeti: The Mercury Masters (Box) (Aus)
Joseph Szigeti: The Mercury Masters (Box) (Aus)
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 02/24/2023
UPC: 028948437566

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Brahms Horn Trio, John Barrows · Mieczyslaw Horszowski
2. Brahms Violin Sonata No. 2, John Barrows · Mieczyslaw Horszowski
3. Brahms Violin Concerto, Herbert Menges
4. Prokofiev Violin Sonatas Nos. 1 ; 2, Artur Balsam
5. Beethoven Violin Concerto, Antal Doráti
6. Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1, Herbert Menges
7. Stravinsky Duo Concertant, Roy Bogas
8. Honegger Violin Sonata No. 1, Roy Bogas
9. Webern Four Pieces, Op. 7, Roy Bogas
10. Debussy Violin Sonata, Roy Bogas
11. Ives Violin Sonata No. 4, Roy Bogas
12. Bartók Violin Sonata No. 2, Roy Bogas

More Info:

Romanticist and classicist, modernist and conservative, the violinist Joseph Szigeti defied classification. His wide repertoire ranged from Bach to Bartók and beyond, and he played it all with skill and understanding, becoming known as 'the thinking man's virtuoso'. Issued internationally and complete, for the first time on CD in this Limited Edition original-jackets collection, these Mercury recordings were made in New York and London during the autumn of Szigeti's career, between 1959 and 1961. The original Mercury tapes have been given new high-definition transfers at Abbey Road Studios, and then remastered by Thomas Fine.