The Damned - Smash It Up: 25th Anniversary | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

The Damned - Smash It Up: 25th Anniversary
Smash It Up: 25th Anniversary
Artist: The Damned
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 10/06/2023
UPC: 029667030120

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. New Rose
2. Love Song
3. Neat Neat Neat
4. I Just Can't Be Happy Today
5. Jet Boy, Jet Girl
6. Hit or Miss
7. There Ain't No Sanity Clause
8. Smash It Up Parts 1 ; 2
9. Plan 9 Channel 7
10. Rabid (Over You)
11. Wait for the Blackout
12. History of the World Part 1

More Info:

With a well-received new album "Darkadelic" in the shops the Damned continue to build on their legendary status. When released earlier this year the vinyl version of "The Best Of The Damned" even went top 20 in the Indie album chart. This album was originally released by Ace back in 1981 and pulled together the classic singles that the band had waxed for the label like 'Love Song', 'Smash It Up' (Parts 1 and 2)', 'I just Can't Be Happy Today', 'History Of The World', 'Hit Or Miss', their Christmas single 'There Ain't No Sanity Clause' and 'Wait For The Blackout'. Not only are these now seen as gold standard Damned tracks but also map out a musical development when at Ace where they moved from their punk roots to crafting melodic pop songs that also took them into the charts. Better still, when originally pressed up in 1981 the album cannily also included those earlier classics punk classics 'New Rose' and 'Neat Neat Neat'. There even Captain Sensible and the Softies version of Jet Boy, Jet Girl that appeared on the flip of 'Wait For The Blackout' in 1982. You don't mess with a classic so we have reissued the original album as it was on this new CD version. The only additional fairy-dust is supplied by new liner notes from Ian Shirley which details the journey of the Damned from 'New Rose' to "The Best Of The Damned".