Various Artists - For Dancers Forty / Various | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

For Dancers Forty / Various
Artist: Various Artists
Format: CD


Label: Kent Records Uk
Rel. Date: 12/02/2022
UPC: 029667107327

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Satisfied Feeling - Mary Love
2. You'd Be Good for Me - Jeanette Jones
3. Gonna Put It on Your Mind - Arthur Adams
4. Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood
5. Jealous Woman - T-Bone Walker
6. Walk the Chalk Line -
7. Aaron Collins ; the Teen Queens
8. I've Got Papers on You Baby - B B King
9. You Changed Me - Teddy Reynolds ; the Twisters
10. Wanting You - Jimmy Bee
11. That's It - Z Z Hill
12. Push Me - Lowell Fulson
13. Here Comes the Judge - Larry ; Tommy
14. Tramp - Foxfire Featuring Johnny Adams
15. Freedom ; Justice - Pace-Setters
16. Jimmy's Special - Little Joe Blue
17. Remove My Doubts - Stacy Johnson
18. You Brought It All on Yourself - Clay Hammond
19. It's Crazy Baby - Ike ; Tina Turner
20. On My Way Back Home - Flash Terry
21. Mr Bad Luck - King Solomon
22. Mr Bus Driver - the Teen Queens
23. No More Tears - the Sweethearts
24. Help Me - Beatrice Lee
25. I'll Let Nothing Come Between Us - Billy Watkins

More Info:

Kent Records are commemorating 40 years since the LP KENT 001 "For Dancers Only" hit the record shops in 1982 with resounding success. Our new CD "For Dancers Forty" revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off. We have already released a "For Dancers Forty" LP but though the compilations share the same celebratory title, only three tracks feature on both. We didn't want to neglect our digital customers at the expense of the vinyl hounds. The collection represents the breadth of label-owners Saul, Jules, Joe and Lester Bihari's recordings, featuring stompers, rhythm & blues rockers, girl soul grooves, group harmony and sublime ballads. Several tracks are new to Kent CDs. There are previously unheard 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins and his sisters, the Teen Queens, guitarist/songwriter Arthur Adams and soul-crooner Billy Watkins. Kent stalwarts Mary Love and Z. Z. Hill are featured, musically and on the front cover with a recently discovered studio shot. As with KENT 001 we feature the R&B sounds of the label from T-Bone Walker, Little Joe Blue, Flash Terry and the mighty B. B. King. There are underplayed tracks by Jeanette Jones, Lowell Fulson and Tommy Youngblood - whose moody LP-only track 'Tobacco Road North' has been sampled by US rappers. As ever on our rare soul scene, it is the lesser-known artists who we spotlight - there are largely unheard tracks by Teddy Reynolds (from a very obscure Twist LP), King Solomon and a plaintive ballad from Beatrice Lee. Northern Soul devotees will enjoy the Sweethearts' Motownesque 'No More Tears', Jimmy Bee's new and improved 'Wanting You' with added chorus, which has a digital debut and Clay Hammond's cult mover 'You Brought It All On Yourself' reappears after several years' absence. The funk-edged crowd get the first re-release of Foxfire's manic take on Fulson's 'Tramp', and new to Kent are Larry (Perrault) & Tommy (Bush) doing a version of Shorty Long's 'Here Comes The Judge'