Loma Northern Soul-Classics & Revelations 1964-68 - Loma Northern Soul-Classics & Revelations 1964-68 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. It's Your Love That I Need - the Marvellos
2. Go for Yourself - Larry Laster
3. Heartstrings - the Invincibles
4. You Can't Outsmart a Woman - Kell Osborne
5. Lies - Bobby Freeman
6. That's All You Gotta Do - Ben Aiken
7. I Need You - the Marvellos
8. Mean It Baby - Carl Hall
9. I'm Getting Weaker - the Soul Shakers
10. Just a Little Longer - the Enchanters
11. Please Be True - the Invincibles
12. If You Should See Her - Ben Aiken
13. My Heart Needs a Break - Linda Jones
14. See the Silver Moon - the Apollas
15. Bright Lights - Delilah Kennebruew
16. Something's Burnin' - the Marvellos
17. Satisfied - Ben Aiken
18. Runnin Around - Tony Amaro ; the Chariots
19. Got a Thing Goin' - the Invincibles
20. The Man with the Golden Touch - Charles Thomas
21. Baby Don't Look Down - Billy Storm
22. I Finally Got a Break - the Olympics
23. The Big Jerk, Part 1 - Clyde ; the Blue Jays
24. I'll Find a Way - Bobby Reed
25. Better Think of What You're Losing - Tommy Starr

More Info:

The compilation is a mix of the loved and cherished sides as played on the Northern Soul scene from the early 70s onwards, to brand new master tape finds that will give this ageing cultural movement a timely shot in the arm for the '20s and beyond. The Marvellos open with 'It's Your Love That I Need', a 1966 Willie Hutch song that has only just been unearthed and is setting dancefloors alight with it's mid-60s soul perfection. Their classic 'Something's Burnin' is here along with a recent gem, 'I Need You' that is also digitally presented for the first time too. The equally accomplished and respected Invincibles have a solid three dance tracks - none of which were issued at the time. 'Heartstrings' is the catchy dancer destined to go big, while 'Please Be True' is for connoisseurs of the Impressions' vocalising style. 'Got A Thing Goin' however is a manic stomper for super-fit dancers and acrobats only - reminiscent of Little Joe Cook's 'I'm Falling In Love With You Baby'. Philly's Ben Aiken made his Northern name with the irrepressible 'Satisfied' when we were teenagers. Two unreleased nuggets 'That's All I Gotta Do' and 'If You Should See Her' will keep him known and revered through our later years. Carl Hall's evergreen 'Mean It Baby' is augmented by his 'Like I Told You' - a real grower. The girls join in with the legendary Linda Jones' 'My Heart Needs A Break' opus, Delilah Kennebreuw's Spectoresque collector's favourite 'Bright Lights' and the girly stomper that is 'See The Silvery Moon' by the Apollas - poptastic. Early-scene mod sounds are provided by the mysterious Clyde & The Blue Jays who tell us how to do 'The Big Jerk', the Olympics revert to the R&B of their earlier career with 'I Finally Got A Break' before their Mirwood soul makeover. Billy Storm tears it up with 'Baby Don't Look Down' an early song from the man who would give us the soundtrack to Toy Story - Randy Newman. The Enchanters' 'Just A Little Longer' is a mid-60s Drifters' soundalike, fresh from the tape reel. The Soul Shakers' 'I'm Getting Weaker', Kell Osborne's 'You Can't Outsmart A Woman' and Larry Laster's 'Go For Yourself' are accepted as the building blocks of the Northern Soul scene and still sound wonderful. Sleepers include Bobby Freeman's magnificent 'Lies'