Calvin Arnold - Funky Way: Venture Recordings 1967-1969 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Funky Way: Venture Recordings 1967-1969
Artist: Calvin Arnold
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 02/02/2024
UPC: 029667109628

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Funky Way
2. Snatchin' Back
3. Lovely Way to Go
4. Scoobie Doo
5. Mama-In-Law
6. Mini Skirt
7. You Got to Live for Yourself
8. Just a Matter of Time
9. Tryin' to Fly My Kite (In Rainy Weather)
10. Your Love Is Too Much
11. Fool Me Baby
12. Messin' with the Old Folks Home
13. Mo Jo Hannah

More Info:

This is the first album of Mickey Stevenson's Venture material. 'Funky Way' was the label's first release and a hit in 1967, despite limited airplay due to having the word "funky" in the title. It went on to become an early funk classic, covered by Rufus Thomas for Stax, Tommy Strand for Fame, Jimmy Bee for Kent, Ray Johnson and others. Though mainly recorded in Los Angeles, Calvin Arnold was a southern soul singer from Atlanta, Georgia and the material is in that vein - there are Mighty Hannibal produced tracks, recorded in Atlanta. Apart from the eight released sides, Mickey Stevenson's tapes have provided five previously unreleased numbers including the up-tempo mover 'Your Love Is Too Much' and the superb southern funk grooves of 'Trying To Fly My Kite (In Rainy Weather)' and 'Fool Me Baby'. The package features never before seen photos and a 5,000-word biography of the revered singer from Atlanta musicologist Brian Poust. The LP and CD have the same tracks, the CD is chronologically ordered by release, whereas the LP is programmed for optimum listening pleasure for that format.