Didn't I Blow Your Mind: Thom Bell Sound Of / Var - Didn't I Blow Your Mind: Thom Bell Sound Of / Var | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time) - The Delfonics
2. You Gotta Be A Lady - The Chargers
3. The Rubberband Man - Spinners
4. Got You Into My Life - Eloise Laws
5. You Are Everything - The Stylistics
6. Give In To Love - Ronnie Dyson
7. Nice And Slow - Elton John
8. Take My Hand - New York City
9. Silly - Deniece Williams
10. Then Came You - Dionne Warwick ; Spinners
11. Will You Kiss Me One More Time - Lou Rawls
12. Lazy Susan - Little Anthony ; The Imperials
13. Betcha By Golly, Wow - The Stylistics
14. Joe - Nancy Wilson
15. Loving You - Losing You - Johnny Mathis
16. Walking Around In Teardrops - Jerry Butler
17. Nobody Knows It - Bell ; James
18. Let Somebody Love Me - Phyllis Hyman
19. One In A Million (Guy) - Dee Dee Bridgewater
20. Brandy - The O'jays

More Info:

Thom Bell, along with Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, was part of the holy trinity of Philly soul. Reaching an apogee in the early to mid-70s with records for the Delfonics ('Didn't I Blow Your Mind This Time'), Stylistics ('Betcha By Golly, Wow'), the Detroit Spinners ('The Rubberband Man'), and Dionne Warwick ('Then Came You'), Bell was the classically trained arranger who introduced the celeste, the French horn and the harpsichord to soul music. This is the sequel to "Ready Or Not", Ace's first acclaimed compilation of the late Thom Bell's productions and arrangements. Put together by Saint Etienne's Bob Stanley, "Didn't I Blow Your Mind?" combines some of Bell's biggest and best loved 70s hits with rarities and 80s quiet storm classics such as Deniece Williams' 'Silly' and Phyllis Hyman's seductive 'Let Somebody Love You'. Elton John lines up alongside soul legends like Lou Rawls and Eloise Laws. This collection will appeal to Northern Soul collectors as well as pulling in lovers of smooth 70s and 80s soul. Bob Stanley's sleeve-notes - with a rare interview with Bell himself - and a wealth of rare photos are icing on the cake. Bell's unique and instantly identifiable Philly sound has proved timeless.