Jack O' The Clock - Warm Dark Circus | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Jack O' The Clock - Warm Dark Circus
Warm Dark Circus
Artist: Jack O' The Clock
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/28/2024
UPC: 045775052724

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. The Ladder Slipped
2. Division Blues
3. Stuck Inside of Elvis
4. Sage's Song
5. Dürer's Rhinoceros
6. This Is Just What It Seems
7. How Are We Doing...
8. ... And Who Will Tell Us?
9. Snowman on a Ledge

More Info:

Janel Leppin : cello, keyboards, electronics, voice Anthony Pirog : guitar, electronics Janel Leppin and Anthony Pirog are frequently cited as highly influential within Washington D.C.'s respected and evolving music scene as bandleaders and creative voices. Their Cuneiform Records debut Where is Home (2012) is considered a crucial recording from the burgeoning region. The two have crafted a double-LP opus which crosses genres and mirrors their exploratory and dialogic working methods. New Moon in the Evil Age is their long-awaited follow up to Where is Home and will have immediate appeal to fans of jazz, modern composition and indie music. Janel and Anthony make it clear in conversation that New Moon in the Evil Age is a harbinger of things to come and the distillation of a twenty year process. This recording is only their third as a duo and this fact is somewhat surprising given the fact that they both have been exceptionally active over the past decade. The 19 tracks of New Moon In The Evil Age, like the years it took to record it, flash by rather quickly, which is a testament to their vision and working process. The album has a pretty clear division point, given that the first ten tracks are instrumental while the remaining nine are vocal and electronics-heavy. Rather than interpolating and ping-ponging sensibilities from song to song, the arc from soaring string interplay to synth-driven layered avant-pop is clear. Leppin remarks that "this album is organic to us. We've never been married to a particular genre and avoid limitations in our music.""