Janel Leppin - Ensemble Volcanic Ash: To March Is To Love [Limited Edition] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Ode to Abdul Waduud
2. Tennessee's a Drag
3. A Man Approached Me
4. As Wide As All Outdoors
5. Union Art
6. Oh Johnny Dear
7. Sateatime
8. To March Is to Love PT I
9. To March Is to Love PT 2
10. Guidance Received
11. Casals' Rainbow

More Info:

A composer and cellist who's honed a singular synthesis of composition, orchestration and improvisation, while heavily involved for decades with Washington D.C.'s vibrant new music, jazz, rock and improvised music scenes Janel Leppin steps forward as a bandleader once more with the second, even stronger, release by her acclaimed Ensemble Volcanic Ash. The six-piece group melds an illustrious array of D.C. talent into a glimmering expressive organism that surges, expands, ebbs and dances in multiple directions at once and features musicians from noted, forward-thinking ensembles such as Irreversible Entanglements, The Messthetics, Priests, Silt Trio, Kyp Malone, Marissa Nadler and more!Ensemble Volcanic Ash exquisitely captures... melody, harmony, and noise at a furious clip. They both tug at the heartstrings and bust ears... with near-effortless command... " - Brad Cohan / JazzTimes