Soft Machine - Hovidkodden 1971 (Blk) (Box) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Hovidkodden 1971 (Blk) (Box)
Artist: Soft Machine
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 05/31/2024
UPC: 045775053011

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. LP 1 - February 27, 1971 [1st set] // Facelift
2. Virtually
3. Slightly All The Time
4. Fletcher's Blemish
5. // LP 2 - February 27, 1971 [2nd set]// Neo-Caliban Grides
6. Out-Bloody-Rageous
7. Vocal Improvisation
8. Eamonn Andrews
9. All White
10. Kings and Queens
11. Teeth
12. Pigling Bland // LP 3 - February 28, 1971 [1st set] // Facelift
13. Virtually
14. Slightly All The Time
15. Fletcher's Blemish
16. Slightly All The Time [encore] // LP 4 - February 28, 1971 [2nd set] // Neo-Caliban Grides
17. Out-Bloody-Rageous
18. Vocal Improvisation
19. Eamonn Andrews
20. All White
21. Kings and Queens
22. Teeth
23. Pigling Bland

More Info:

4 x LP box set with full size insert. This well recorded and carefully mastered set captures the most famous version of the band (the 'classic quartet') on their final European tour on two consecutive nights on February 27 and 28, 1971. While the two sets from the second night have been released before, this is the first time that the entire two- night stand has been released. So half of this is previously completely unreleased. This is a excellent, stereo recording of the band performing in a relatively small hall; the volume balance between the instruments is not perfect, but there is no other recording by Soft Machine that I know of that sounds as much like the band are performing right in front of you! Additionally, we were able to improve in a modest way the not-perfect balance between the instruments on this edition. The result is, in the words of the late Michael King, who released the Sunday concert on his Reel Recordings label in 2009, "demonstrably the finest recording of the classic Soft Machine quartet ever committed to tape."