Scott Mcmicken & The Ever-Expanding - Shabang [LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. What About Now
2. Reconcile
3. Letters To The Editor
4. Mountain Lion
5. In My Mind
6. Shabang
7. Another One
8. Ever-Expanding
9. Grateful
10. Restart
11. Ace In The Hole
12. Diamonds In The Snow
13. Worried Mind

More Info:

Scott McMicken has always thrived on switching things up. As a founding member of Philadelphia rock mainstays Dr. Dog, McMicken and his bandmates consistently explored new sounds and new ways of writing songs across 10 gleefully eclectic albums before their 2021 hiatus. While McMicken has quietly released solo projects via cassette and vinyl on his own label Press On Records, for his latest effort, hes done something hes only done once before: started a band. With Shabang, out March 31, 2023, via ANTI-, comes the debut album from Scott McMicken and THE EVER-EXPANDING, and hes made some of his freest and most adventurous music yet: a wonderfully collabora- tive collection of songs that feel lived in and true. By being present and living with these musicians (quite literally: McMicken and collaborator Michael Nau stayed in tents outside the studio) united under one com- mon goal, Shabang is full of life and endlessly candid. I knew nothing good will come of this unless I am totally free and away from any pres- sure and pretense, says McMicken. Such an incredible spectrum of emotion passed through me while making this album. There was this lightness and un-self seriousness. I feel like music and life cruises at that spot: everybody was so wholeheartedly invested and open.