Viejas Raices - De Las Colonias Del Rio De La Plata (Spla) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

Altercat proudly presents the definitive reissue of one of the crown jewels of South American jazz. Essentially the brainchild of Argentinian jazz's leading figure Jorge Lopez Ruiz, the project Viejas Raices marked Lopez Ruiz's departure from the traditional forms of jazz. The trio that recorded this album, consisting of Lopez Ruiz joined by his life-long friend drummer Pocho Lapouble and gifted Chilean pianist Matias Pizarro, created a thrilling blend of jazz and Uruguayan candombe, surrounded by an undeniable cinematic feel spurred by Lopez Ruiz's long experience in the soundtrack field. When read as one element, the cleverly chosen combination of group name and album title (in English: 'Old Roots of the Colonies of the River Plate') readily hints at the kind of sounds the listener will be challenged with when diving into this LP. Recorded in 1976 in the wake of the 'Proceso de Reorganizacion Nacional', the bloodiest period of dictatorship in Argentina, the album was initially frowned upon by critics and public alike, both still firmly rooted in jazz traditionalism and obviously not ready for the new ideas that musicians like Lopez Ruiz were experimenting with. Despite being a commercial flop upon it's release, the album has been enjoying a growing reputation over the last two decades, acclaimed by jazz enthusiasts who value it from a different historical perspective and embrace it's experimentation during this revolutionary period of change. Forty-five years after it's release, the album receives the Altercat treatment with a much deserved deluxe reissue, with sound direct from the master tapes and an accompanying 8-page booklet with previously unpublished pictures and bilingual liner notes telling everything you ever wanted to know about the album and those who made it possible. Tracklisting:A1. O'Placar (6:22)A2. Para Nosotros Solamente (4:49)A3. Balewada (4:07)A4. Los Berugos Wor (4:58)B1. La Hora de la Sed Maldita (4:16)B2. El Viaje de Dumpty (5:15)B3. Eterna Presencia (4:38)B4. Mira Tu (4:56)