Hazel Dickens / Gerrard,Alice - Who's That Knocking? | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Walkin' in My Sleep
2. Can't You Hear Me Calling
3. Darling Nellie Across the Sea
4. Difficult Run
5. Coal Miner's Blues
6. Gabriel's Call
7. Just Another Broken Heart
8. Take Me Back to Tulsa
9. Who's That Knocking?
10. Cowboy Jim
11. Long Black Veil
12. Lee Highway Blues
13. Lover's Return
14. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
15. I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling

More Info:

Initially released in 1965, Who's That Knocking? is the first album by Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard. With this trailblazing record, Hazel and Alice shattered the glass ceiling of male-dominated bluegrass, which had typically relegated women to minor musical roles at best. Hazel and Alice's hard-edged, soulful harmonies were firmly rooted in the older music traditions of the rural South. Their steadfast devotion to their powerful, driving style inspired generations of women in bluegrass, country music, and even punk. They are accompanied on this album by Chubby Wise, arguably the architect of bluegrass fiddling; David Grisman, whose mandolin improvisations changed the landscape of acoustic music; and Lamar Grier, who played banjo as a member of Bill Monroe's Blue Grass Boys in the 1960s. Unavailable on vinyl for decades, Who's That Knocking? was remastered in 2021 by it's original producer Peter K. Siegel, and has been reissued with it's original artwork and liner notes.