Schubert / Sinfonieorchester Bern / Venzago - Symphony 7 In E Major | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

The Symphony in E major (D 729) from the summer of 1821 is one of five unfinished symphonies by Franz Schubert. Recently it has often been counted as Schubert's 7th symphony. Unlike his other symphonic fragments, the symphony in E major exists in a complete draft from the first to the last bar in all four movements. More recently, the symphony became accessible to a wider public again in the completed version by Brian Newbould (1982). Now the Austrian composer Richard Dünser, together with the conductor Mario Venzago, has presented a new version of the symphony fragment. The less inspired middle movements have been replaced by supplemented drafts from the year of Schubert's death. The result: a "new" great symphony by Schubert with a playing time of over 40 minutes; an original and gripping work that immediately convinces with it's idiomatic and formal unity.