Dave Douglas / Mehler,Elan - If There Are Mountains [Digipak] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. If There Are Mountains
2. We Saw You Off
3. Even a Nameless Stream
4. Wolf Orchard
5. Haiku
6. Here on the Plains
7. Village of No Bells
8. The Spring Current
9. With Your Singing
10. Arms Folded to the Moon
11. A Thicket of Summer Grass
12. Barn's Burnt Down
13. Life

More Info:

The Dave Douglas and Elan Mehler Sextet mixes seasoned veterans with relative newcomers, setting poetry and specifically haiku into the context of improvising music. On If There Are Mountains, their first album as co-leaders, the trumpeter and pianist are joined by vocalist Dominique Eade, reedist John Gunther, bassist Simón Willson, and drummer Dayeon Seok. If There Are Mountains, previously released only to vinyl on Mehler's label Newvelle Records, now sees a fresh release via Douglas' own label Greenleaf Music. Douglas and Mehler composed all thirteen tracks between themselves, including four never-before-heard songs: Douglas' "Arms Folded to the Moon", "A Thicket of Summer Grass", and "Life" plus Mehler's "Barn's Burnt Down". While the spark for Douglas and Mehler's collaboration around haiku goes back two decades to an early performance of Douglas' "Village of No Bells", this vocal-forward ensemble sounds undeniably fresh. The group presents unusual melodic relationships with concise expression, matching the form of the Japanese poetry found within the lyrics.