Antonio Pappano / Chamayou,Bertrand - Strauss: Ein Heldenleben - Burleske | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: I. Der Held
2. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: II. Des Helden Widersacher
3. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: III. Des Helden Gefahrtin
4. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: IV. Des Helden Walstatt
5. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: V. Des Helden Friedenswerke
6. Ein Heldenleben TRV 190, Op. 40: VI. Des Helden Weltflucht Und Vollendung
7. Burleske in D minor, TRV 145

More Info:

Antonio Pappano conducts Rome's Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in two works from the earlier phase of Richard Strauss's career: a comparative rarity, the mercurial, virtuosic Burleske for piano and orchestra, with Bertrand Chamayou as soloist, and the epic autobiographical tone poem Ein Heldenleben, one of the composer's orchestral masterpieces. "Strauss always thought dramaturgically," says Pappano. "Recording this music in Italy, the link has to be through opera, with all it's theatricality, temperament, contrast and colour... You need a certain charisma in the sound, which these players achieve."