Abel Selaocoe - Where Is Home? (Hae Ke Kae) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Where Is Home? (Hae Ke Kae)
Artist: Abel Selaocoe
Format: Vinyl


Label: Warner Classics
Rel. Date: 11/04/2022
UPC: 190296224287

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Ibuyile I'Africa / Africa is Back
2. Dipolelo/ Recite
3. Zawose (for Hukwe Zawose)
4. Cello Sonata No. 7 in D Major, I. 84: I. Adagio
5. Cello Sonata No. 7 in D Major, I. 84: II. Allegro
6. Cello Sonata No. 7 in D Major, I. 84: III. Largho
7. Cello Sonata No. 7 in D Major, I. 84: IV. Presto
8. Qhawe / Hero
9. Lerato / Love
10. Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009: IV. Sarabande
11. Ka Bohaleng / On the Sharp Side
12. Ancestral Affirmations

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. South African cellist Abel Selaocoe makes his debut on Warner Classics with Where is Home (Hae Ke Kae). It's dual title, in English and Sesotho, reflects the album's diverse program which draws from vibrant European and African influences: pieces inspired by South African and Tanzanian musical tradition share a space with works by J.S. Bach and Giovanni Benedetto Platti, some of which are renewed with instrumental and lyrical improvisations. The title of the album holds multifaceted significance for the Manchester-based musician: "Home is the place that empowers you; it's not only a geographical place but in people as well, where you can live a life of empowerment and not of oppression. I've learned to find my different homes through the cello." Abel Selaocoe represents Africa on the move.