Mozart / Andsnes / Mahler Chamber Orche - Mozart Momentum - 1785 (2pk) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. *Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 20 in D minor K 466
2. 1 I Allegro 14:47
3. 2 II Romance 9:10
4. 3 III [Allegro Assai] 7:58
5. *Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 21 in C Major K 467
6. 4 I Allegro Maestoso 14:00
7. 5 II Andante 6:46
8. 6 III Allegro Vivace Assai 7:00
9. Leif Ove Andsnes Piano ; Direction · Mahler Chamber Orchestra
10. 1 Fantasia in C minor K 475 12:11
11. Adagio - Allegro - Andantino - Più Allegro - Tempo I
12. Quartet for Piano, Violin, Viola and Cello No. 1 in G minor K 478
13. 2 I Allegro 10:51
14. 3 II Andante 6:43
15. 4 III [Rondo. Allegro Moderato] 7:34
16. 5 Masonic Funeral in C minor K 477 (K 479A) 4:47
17. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 22 in E-Flat Major K 482
18. 6 I Allegro 13:30
19. Cadenza: John Fraser
20. 7 II Andante 8:45
21. 8 III Allegro - Andantino Cantabile - Tempo I 10:43

More Info:

When you realize how quickly Mozart developed during the early years of the 1780's it makes you ask: why did this happen? What was going on? It's about the momentum of his creativity at this time" says Leif Ove Andsnes. Mozart Momentum 1785 is the first of two releases exploring those especially remarkable years. It includes piano concertos Nos 20-22, the Piano Quartet in G minor, Masonic Funeral Music and Fantasia in C minor for solo piano. "The idea of this project was to explore the diversity of what was going on in Mozart's creative life at the time - to show that a separation between solo playing, chamber music playing and concerto playing isn't really relevant," says Andsnes. "You find that some piano parts in the chamber music are more virtuosic than those in the concertos. It all goes hand in hand." Leif Ove Andsnes will embark on this new chapter with a trusted partner: The Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Their previous concerto project - the five piano concertos by Beethoven - produced recordings that won BBC Music Magazine's Disc of the Year, were nominated for Gramophone Awards and hailed as new benchmarks. "There's so much more to this partnership than just exceptional playing; there's a palpable sense of discovery, of living the music", says Gramophone Magazine. The Guardian raved "You'd be hard-put to find a pianist and orchestra better matched.