Brahms - Perahia Plays Brahms & Schubert | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Perahia Plays Brahms & Schubert
Artist: Brahms
Format: CD


Label: SYNX
Rel. Date: 12/04/2020
UPC: 194397883527

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Schubert: Piano Sonata in C minor D 958
2. Piano Sonata in a Major D 959
3. Schubert: Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major D 960
4. Schubert: Piano Sonata in a Major D 959
5. Fantasia for Piano Duet in F minor D 940 Radu Lupu Piano
6. Schubert: 4 Impromptus D 899
7. 4 Impromptus D 935
8. Schubert: Winterreise D 911 Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau Baritone
9. Brahms: Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor Op. 5
10. Rhapsody in E-Flat Major Op. 119/4
11. Capriccio in B minor Op. 76/2
12. Intermezzo in E-Flat minor Op. 118/6
13. Rhapsody in B minor Op. 79/1
14. Brahms: Variations and Fugue in B-Flat Major
15. On a Theme By Handel Op. 24
16. 2 Rhapsodies Op. 79 ยท 6 Piano Pieces Op. 118
17. 4 Piano Pieces Op. 119
18. Brahms: Variations for 2 Pianos in B-Flat Major
19. On a Theme By Joseph Haydn Op. 56B
20. Sir Georg Solti Piano
21. Quartet for Piano and Strings No. 1 in G minor Op. 25
22. Amadeus Quartet

More Info:

The Schubert and Brahms recordings by Murray Perahia are now collected on 8 albums. His versions of the three late Schubert sonatas released in 2003 were the top choice for these works in BBC Radio 3's Building a Library. Gramophone likened his playing here to "a tree just opening from bud in the radiance of spring... Perahia's limpid delicacy constantly reminding us of his dedication to Mozart". In solo Brahms - the F minor Sonata, Handel Variations and late piano pieces - Gramophone lauded Perahia's "superfine musical intelligence and technique". Murray Perahia the collaborative pianist is showcased in Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau's 1990 recording (his seventh) of Schubert's Winterreise ("A gripping performance of mature reflection, aided by Perahia's positive, interactive playing" - BBC Music Magazine); Brahms's "Haydn Variations" for piano four hands partnered in 1987 by Sir Georg Solti ("... so communicative, so warmly sympathetic, so alive and spontaneous" - Gramophone); and the Brahms G minor Piano Quartet from 1986 with the Amadeus Quartet ("Wild and urgent... brims with energy and immediacy... Perahia emerges as a powerful, passionate Brahmsian" - Gramophone).