Arjen Lucassen Anthony / Star One - Space Metal (W/Cd) [Colored Vinyl] (Gate) [180 Gram] (Purp) [With Booklet] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Lift-Off
2. Set Your Controls
3. High Moon
4. Songs of the Ocean
5. Master of Darkness
6. The Eye of Ra
7. Sandrider
8. Perfect Survivor
9. Intergalactic Space Crusaders
10. Starchild
11. Hawkwind Medley
12. Spaced Out
13. Inseparable Enemies
14. Space Oddity
15. Lift-Off
16. Set Your Controls
17. High Moon
18. Songs of the Ocean
19. Master of Darkness
20. The Eye of Ra
21. Sandrider
22. Perfect Survivor
23. Intergalactic Space Crusaders
24. Starchild
25. Hawkwind Medley
26. Spaced Out
27. Inseparable Enemies
28. Space Oddity
29. Spaced Out (Alternative Version)

More Info:

In 2002 well-known for his albums by the progressive rock project Ayreon, Star One "Space Metal" is an exciting project from one of rock's great visionaries, Arjen Lucassen. With it's stellar musicianship, visionary production and a simple yet far-reaching concept, Star One "Space Metal" shines bright as a giant sun in the galaxy of rock. "Space Metal" isn't a continuous story or a rock opera like the Ayreon albums. Yet it is still very much a concept album and a journey through Arjen's mind and memory. He takes the listener on a trip where they relive those great science fiction space films that made such an impact on him. Without a doubt Arjen Lucassen set a trend with his Ayreon albums. Especially after the highly successful release of "Into the Electric Castle" many musicians and producers have followed in his footsteps and new rock operas with multiple singers are surfacing all over the world. To ensure to keep the involved voices diverse he used very different sounding singers appearing in the same songs - different singers for different moods. Dan Swano (ex-Edge of Sanity, Nightingale) sings the low parts, Russell Allen (Symphony X and more) sings the powerful rough parts, Damian Wilson (ex-Threshold, Headspace) sings the high clear parts, and to top it off, Floor Jansen (Nightwish) sings the really high choruses. Robert Soeterboek (Ayreon) sang the backing vocals with his huge smoky voice. Of course Ed Warby played the powerful drums, and Erik Norlander once again added his huge analog synth leads. Arjen also managed to get Jens Johansson (Yngwie Malmsteen, Dio, Stratovarius) who played some incredibly fast synth leads as well. Arjen even succeeded in getting Hawkwind's Dave Brock to make a guest vocal appearance, something no one has ever managed to do before.