Northwoods Improvisers - Fanfares | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Luna Turca
2. Ground Swell
3. Anointed from David to Christ
4. Swamp Birds
5. Fanfare for Aj
6. Midnights with Mike (Destination Out)
7. Sunny's Dance
8. Hymn for Dennis Gonzalez
9. In Fields

More Info:

The Northwoods Improvisers return with a new album. Fanfares is the latest effort with a quintet/sextet lineup that includes the veteran rhythm section of Mike Johnston and Nick Ashton and reunites them with a fierce front line of saxophonists Dominic Bierenga and Donovan Boxey, and the strings of Jack O'Brien and Mike Khoury. While the group touches on the spiritual in many ways, they also bring forth fire in the form of the winds duo of Bierenga and Boxey. The music has the strong rhythm section listeners will instantly recognize with Johnston's deep bass lines and Ashton's powerful drumming. Johnston, O'Brien and Khoury form a lush string section enhancing the compositions.