Now 12-Inch 80s: 1982-Part 1 / Various - Now 12-Inch 80s: 1982-Part 1 / Various (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Mirror Man (Extended Version) - the Human League
2. Rio (Part II) - Duran Duran
3. Instinction (Remix) - Spandau Ballet
4. The Look of Love Pt. 1 (12" Special Remix) - ABC
5. What! (Extended Version / 12" Edit) - Soft Cell
6. The Damned Don't Cry (Dance Mix) - Visage
7. Reap the Wild Wind (Extended Version) - Ultravox
8. Life in Tokyo (1982 12" Extended Remix) - Japan
9. Music for Chameleons (Extended Version) - Gary Numan
10. Living on the Ceiling (Extended Version) - Blancmange
11. Lies (Bigger ; Better) - Thompson Twins
12. Talk Talk (Extended Mix) - Talk Talk
13. Pale Shelter (Long Version) - Tears for Fears
14. Why (Full Length Version) - Carly Simon
15. Walking on Sunshine (12" Version) - Rockers Revenge ; Donnie Calvin
16. Loopzilla (Full Length Version) - George Clinton
17. Let S Start II Dance Again (Full Length Album Version) [Feat. Dr. Perri Johnson] - Bohannon
18. John Wayne Is Big Leggy (Groovy Long Version) - Haysi Fantayzee
19. Go Wild in the Country (12" Version) - Bow Wow Wow
20. I M Afraid of Me (Extended Mix) - Culture Club
21. See Those Eyes (12" Version) - Altered Images
22. Shy Boy (Extended Version) - Bananarama
23. Heartache Avenue (12" Version) - the Maisonettes
24. The Clapping Song (Extended 12" Mix) - the Belle Stars
25. My Camera Never Lies (Extended 12" Version) - Bucks Fizz
26. A Night to Remember (12" Mix) - Shalamar
27. Love Is in Control (Finger on the Trigger) [Dance Remix] - Donna Summer
28. Can't Take My Eyes Off You (Extended Version) - Boys Town Gang
29. Do You Wanna Funk (Feat. Sylvester) [Remix] - Patrick Cowley
30. Native Love (Step By Step) [Extended Version] - Divine
31. Inside Out (12" Version) - Odyssey
32. Just An Illusion (12" Version) - Imagination
33. Best Years of Our Lives (Midnight Mix) - Modern Romance
34. Coffee Club (Remix) - Spandau Ballet
35. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do) [Extended Club Mix] - Daryl Hall ; John Oates
36. Pass the Dutchie (12" Version) - Musical Youth
37. Fantastic Day (12" Version) - Haircut 100
38. Temptation (12" Version) - New Order
39. Club Country (12" Version) - the Associates
40. Fireworks (12" Version) - Siouxsie and the Banshees
41. Let S Go to Bed (Extended Mix 1982) - the Cure
42. T Aint What You Do.../Just Do It (Extended Version) - Fun Boy Three ; Bananarama
43. Da Da Da I Don't Love You You Don't Love Me Aha Aha Aha (Long Version) - Trio
44. The Anvil (Dance Mix) - Visage
45. New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) [German 12" Remix] - Simple Minds
46. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You) [Extended Version] - a Flock of Seagulls
47. Windpower (High Powered Extended Play) - Thomas Dolby
48. Where the Heart Is (12" Version) - Soft Cell

More Info:

NOW Music are excited to present the next instalment of the 'NOW 12" 80s' series - NOW 12" 80s: 1982 - Part One - Out January 19th! Across 4 CDs, 48 extended, full-length or remixed versions reflecting the shift from Disco being the dominant genre in the Chart, to it being enriched with the developing Synth-Pop and New-Wave sounds of the New Romantics. Despite this sonic shift, the 12" single played an even more vital role than it had done with Funk and Disco, providing fans with more time on club dancefloors and more room for artist and producer experimentation. This edition of 12" 80s presents part one of 1982 - such massive year for Pop that we had to split this year into two parts to present all of the essential tracks. Disc one showcases some of the bands who were at the forefront of this culture shift, including Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet and Visage - all having fantastic years with their albums 'Rio', 'Diamond' and 'The Anvil' respectively, plus huge tracks from The Human League with 'Mirror Man', Japan with 'Life In Tokyo', Gary Numan's 'Music For Chameleons' and 'Pale Shelter' from Tears For Fears, all in their extended and remixed versions. CD2 presents the best of 82 Disco-Pop from Carly Simon with her Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards produced hit 'Why', plus Electro from Rockers Revenge feat. Donnie Calvin with 'Walking On Sunshine', and George Clinton's 'Loopzilla'. Culture Club had a fantastic year in 1982 with the release of their debut album 'Kissing To Be Clever' from which 'I'm Afraid Of Me' was the second single, and Bananarama enjoyed early success with their hit single 'Shy Boy'. This disc closes with Pop classics from The Belle Stars with 'The Clapping Song', and the #1 'My Camera Never Lies' from Bucks Fizz. Disco, Funk and Soul lead the way on CD3, featuring massive floor-fillers from Shalamar with 'A Night To Remember', 'Can't Take My Eyes Off You' from The Boys Town Gang and an extended remix of 'Do You Wanna Funk' from Patrick Cowley feat. Sylvester, plus the smash 'Just An Illusion' from Imagination in it's 12" version. Latin-tinged Pop from Modern Romance, Funk and Soul infuences from Spandau Ballet, Daryl Hall & John Oates with the extended club mix of 'I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)', and the Pure Pop of Haircut 100 complete this disc. CD4 rounds off this track list with Alternative/Indie Rock favourites, from New Order, Associates, Siouxsie And The Banshees and The Cure, and there's still room for Synth driven smashes from Simple Minds with the German 12" Remix of 'New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84)' and A Flock Of Seagulls with 'Wishing (If I Had A Photograph of You)', plus huge tracks from Trio and a second appearance for Visage, before finishing this stellar collection with Thomas Dolby, and Soft Cell.