Igor Levit, Christian Thielemann & Wiener Philharmoniker - Brahms: Piano Concertos & Solo Piano Opp. 116 - 119 [CD] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Piano Concerto No.1 in D Minor, Op. 15
2. I. Maestoso
3. II. Adagio
4. III. Rondo. Allegro non troppo
5. Piano Concerto No.2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83
6. I. Allegro non troppo
7. II. Allegro appassionato
8. III. Andante
9. IV. Allegretto grazioso
10. 7 Fantasias, Op. 116
11. No. 1: Capriccio in D Minor
12. No. 2: Intermezzo in A Minor
13. No. 3: Capriccio in G Minor
14. No. 4: Intermezzo in E Major
15. No. 5: Intermezzo in E Minor
16. No. 6: Intermezzo in E Major
17. No. 7: Capriccio in D Minor
18. 3 Intermezzi, Op. 117
19. No. 1 in E-Flat Major
20. No. 2 in B-Flat Minor
21. No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor
22. 6 Piano Pieces, Op. 118
23. No. 1: Intermezzo in A Minor
24. No. 2: Intermezzo in A Major
25. No. 3: Ballade in G Minor
26. No. 4: Intermezzo in F Minor
27. No. 5: Romance in F Major
28. No. 6: Intermezzo in E-Flat Minor
29. 4 Piano Pieces, Op. 119
30. No. 1: Intermezzo in B Minor
31. No. 2: Intermezzo in E Minor
32. No. 3: Intermezzo in C Major
33. No. 4: Rhapsody in E-Flat Major
34. Waltz in A Major, Op. 39, No. 15 (Version for piano 4-hands)

More Info:

This is the first recording of pianist Igor Levit, conductor Christian Thielemann and the Vienna Philharmonic with Brahms’ two Piano Concertos. The release is a triple-CD album with Levit’s recording of Brahm’s late solo piano works opp 116-119. As a special encore Levit and Thielemann also play the four-hand Brahms Waltz op. 39/15 together. The album will be out internationally on October 4 on Sony Classical. After Igor Levit, Christian Thielemann, and the Vienna Philharmonic performed Brahms’ First Piano Concerto at Vienna’s famous Musikverein in April 2024 the Viennese newspaper The Standard wrote: “During these fifty minutes, an irresistible dose of emotion was conveyed – but at the same time the sophisticated structure of Brahms’ masterpiece remained crystal clear.” Four months earlier after their performance of the Second Piano Concerto, the Austrian newspaper Die Presse had declared that “Igor Levit sets a new gold standard for Brahms.”