Colby Acuff - American Son | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Nightmare
2. Scared of the Dark
3. How Do I Feel Alive
4. Starving
5. Better Days
6. Ain't So Bad
7. Devil That You Know
8. Plastic Horses
9. Bruised
10. High Noon
11. Man in the Paper Mask
12. Suzanne
13. Hello Rain
14. Me
15. Heavy Hearted Man
16. American Son

More Info:

Lyrical maverick and unrelenting vocalist Colby Acuff will release his latest project, American Son, Aug. 23., 2024. - "Maybe it was the state of mind I was in, coming out of a grueling touring year in 2023," Acuff shared of the personal LP. "It was a trying time. My Dad was terminally ill. I was looking around, taking stock of a lot of things - and it put me in a very weird place. I started pouring a lot into the songs, being very brutally honest. I wanted to make a record that really said something." - With American Son, Acuff more than delivers. Working with producer/engineer Eddie Spear (Zach Bryan, Brandi Carlile), they've created a robust, acoustic-forward power punch that packs a force as ambient as it is unvarnished. Throughout the 16 tracks, Acuff lands like a drop of bleach in greasy water. Inducing clarity in the bombast, he harvests the reckoning of an indulgent world that refuses to own consequences - and throws light on realities too long ignored. - "If you make me break it down, I think it's four different pillars," he said. "It's the state of the union and humanity. It's mental health. But it's also hope and love. You can't dive too deep into the darkness without those two things, or you'll never get out." - The album also features "How Do I Feel Alive," with rising sibling trio The Castellows, as well as Acuff's take on Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne.