Alexander Melnikov - Shostakovich: 24 Preludes & Fugues [Reissue] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

These twenty-four preludes and fugues have become so closely associated with the personality and playing style of their 'official interpreter', Tatiana Nikolaeva, that history has decided that that's the way to perform them without looking any more deeply into the matter. Yet this Op.87 is brimming with fascinating answers for anyone who takes the trouble to ask the right questions; and it is not the least merit of Alexander Melnikov to have approached the work from first principles and come up with his own, eminently musical solutions.