Under The Reefs Orchestra - Sakurajima | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Heliodrome
3. Track 3
4. Ants
5. Track 5
6. Sakurajima
7. Track 7
8. Galapagos
9. Track 9
10. Kudzu
11. Track 11
12. Mir
13. Track 13
14. Soleil Trompeur
15. Track 15
16. Mendoza

More Info:

Under the Reefs Orchestra is a volcanic power trio that navigates between hypnotic post rock and stormy jazz. Grasping for the infinite and always threatening total combustion, their music finds it's cruising speed in the storm of permanent upheaval. Based in Brussels and led by guitarist Clément Nourry, the group also includes saxophonist Marti Melia and drummer Jakob Warmenbol, both of them members of the punk jazz band Don Kapot. These three musicians have worked extensively throughout the kinetic Brussels music scene, and bring their unique individual voices together in an improvised and free form style. Under the Reefs Orchestra is following up their eponymous 2020 debut album with Sakurajima, an album which evokes images and textures that are both apocalyptic and divine and echoes the contemporary chaos that surrounds us all. But neither is their music 'commentary', and it's instrumental quality functions equally as an escape. Sakurajima is led by the guitar work of Clément Nourry while also allowing generous space for the dynamic saxophone work of Marti Melia, and is as much 19th century chamber music as it is Jim O'Rourke, Soundgarden, King Crimson, or Morphine. The immediacy of Under the Reefs Orchestra's music allows the listener to freely seize a profusion of moods and states of being. Fans also like : Moondog, Marc Ribot, Sun Ra, John Fahey, Talk Talk