Ausgang 256 - Essai 256 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Essai 256
Artist: Ausgang 256
Format: Vinyl


Label: Planisphere
Rel. Date: 10/21/2022
UPC: 3700398725727

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Gong 3
3. Track 3
4. Home, Not
5. Track 5
6. Song for Trish and James
7. Track 7
8. Coffee ; Jelly
9. Track 9
10. Wherever It Goes
11. Track 11
12. 1 2 3 4 (Reprise)
13. Track 13
14. Smile
15. Track 15
16. What Comes After the Nursery Rhyme
17. Track 17
18. Waves
19. 1
20. Fuga 256

More Info:

On this first record, entirely self-produced, the Parisian trio Ausgang 256 joyfully offers us pop songs that would have been melted in experimental junk like sugar in water, overtly inspired by bands like Broadcast, Animal Collective or by the composer Sonic Boom. Indeed, the music of these young dreamy electronicians slips through our fingers but flows gently into us. Carefully, patiently, meticulously assembled in a small living room in the 18th arrondissement, the debut album of these devoted disciples of the Japanese magician Cornelius works like a pointillist painting. Too close and it's completely abstract. From too far away, you lose the flavour and the craftsmanship. But at the right distance, all the details come together as if by magic.The ten fragments of the album oscillate between experimental pop, space rock, theremin folk ballads and other unstructured melodies. The Essai 256 will be released on 21 October on Planisphère