Tia Blake & Her Folk-Group - Folksongs & Ballads [Digipak] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Betty and Dupree
3. Track 3
4. Black Is the Color
5. Track 5
6. Single Girl
7. Track 7
8. I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow
9. Track 9
10. Jane, Jane
11. Track 11
12. Jimmy Whalen
13. Track 13
14. Rising of the Moon
15. Track 15
16. Hangman
17. Track 17
18. Turtle Dove
19. 1
20. Jesus
21. 1
22. Polly Vaughn

More Info:

Folksongs and Ballads by Tia Blake & Her Folk Group, is more than just a "lost classic".As clear and honest as can be, Folksongs and Ballads is a magnetic record, a refuge like only Nick Drake, Nico, and a few others have been able to create.A graceful, delicately minimalist approach to classic Appalachian and British folk songs, originally released only in France in 1971.When she recorded her only album at Pierre Barouh's Studios Saravah, Tia Blake was nineteen years old and had just arrived in Paris a year and a half beforehand. She spent most of her time at Disco'Thé, a record shop in the Latin Quarter, a free space, peaceful and inspiring, a hub for students as well as the local artistic community.Tia Blake's haunting, unaffected voice captivates and comforts us, wrapping us in it's cool embrace. Meanwhile, the tasteful, stripped-down, mellow acoustic arrangements provided by the guitarists, have created the space Tia Blake needed to reinvent these traditional songs.Folksongs and Ballads is a timeless record, deep and unique, a longtime companion for repeated listening, in the vein of works by Sibylle Baier, Bridget St. John and Vashti Bunyan.