Sibelius / Rouvali / Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra - Symphony No. 4 the Wood Nymph Valse Triste | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. I. Tempo molto moderato, quasi adagio [11:10]
2. II. Allegro molto vivace [04:49]
3. III. Il tempo largo [10:55]
4. IV. Allegro [10:02]
5. The Wood Nymph, Op. 15 [22:04]
6. Valse triste, Op. 44, No. 1 (version for orchestra) [05:27]

More Info:

The Fourth is Sibelius's most difficult symphony. For some, it is his masterpiece. When the symphony was premiered on 3 April 1911 in Helsinki, one critic compared it to Barkbröd - tree bark eaten by the Finns in times of famine! It is fittingly a Finn, conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali, who explores this symphony that lays bare our emotions. With his Göteborg Symphony Orchestra, he continues his cycle of the complete Sibelius symphonies, with the addition of the famous Valse Triste and the symphonic poem inspired by Swedish folklore called The Wood Nymph.