Brahms / Silva / Guy - Trio 114 / Sonatas | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

Brahms's Trio op.114, originally conceived for clarinet (like the two Sonatas op.120), is presented here in it's version with viola: 'Like all Brahms's works, this trio is a vocal, melodic piece. And the viola is perhaps the instrument of the string quartet that comes closest to the human voice', says violist Miguel Da Silva. 'This version with viola obliges me, as a cellist, to listen differently: our two stringed instruments must "breathe" together and match their articulation', continues Xavier Phillips. These three works from late in Brahms's career testify to his modernity: 'Brahms was often considered a classical composer who was impervious to modernity, the guardian of a certain tradition', says pianist François-Frédéric Guy, who agrees with Schoenberg that he was, on the contrary, highly innovative: 'We have a fine example, in the trio, of the extraordinary modernity of his combinations of rhythm and timbre: he is a total innovator.'