Beethoven / Bruno Cocset / Gratton - Sonatas For Fortepiano 1 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

Bruno Cocset, an eminent ambassador of the Baroque cello, here makes a teenage dream come true: to record the Beethoven sonatas. 'When we rediscover it from the inside, this music overwhelms us: it's art of the mise en abyme, it's ability to deviate from the formal scheme, to dare to go as far as the uncontrolled surge of frenzy or the break in tempo... On the part of a champion of the metronome (Beethoven took a hand in it's creation), this imperious seizure of freedom creates immeasurable spaces, thrusting performer and listener into unknown, unforeseen depths... The piano and the cello are bound together throughout the narrative by a fertile, pungent, exhilarating complementarity.' At the fortepiano, a longstanding musical partner, Maude Gratton, plays two different instruments, chosen according to the character of each sonata: a Viennese piano after Johann Andreas Stein and an original John Broadwood from 1822, a model that circulated in Vienna and which Beethoven himself played. In order to tackle this repertory at the cusp of Classicism and Romanticism, Bruno Cocset commissioned a new cello from another faithful partner.