Bach / Brunello / Accademia Dell'annunciata - Bach Transcriptions | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

After the success of their Tartini disc (Arcana 478, Diapason d'or, 5 stars from Musica), Mario Brunello and the Accademia dell'Annunciata return for an ingenious collection of six concertos, all of which are transcriptions of other works. Not only do we hear the keyboard arrangements of Venetian concertos such as Marcello's famous oboe concerto and Vivaldi's Violin Concerto RV230, but also reconstructed concertos by Bach such as those for oboe and oboe d'amore (BWV 1056 and 1055) and those that have come down to us in their original version - from the Violin Concerto BWV 1042 up to and including the renowned Concerto nach Italienischen Gusto BWV 971. The dialogue between the tutti and the solo passages in the latter work, only imagined in it's keyboard version, here finds it's full realization in Riccardo Doni's brilliant transcription for piccolo cello and strings, supported here by the energy and passion of the Accademia dell'Annunciata. Bach Transcriptions is a surprising labyrinth of sound that forms the conclusion of Marco Brunello's trilogy dedicated to Bach's music, of works to which we listen afresh thanks to the expressive potential of the piccolo cello, an instrument that Bach himself had particularly appreciated.