Roy Milton - Rocks | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Artist: Roy Milton
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/08/2023
UPC: 4000127177124

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. You Got Me Reeling And Rocking
2. Wakin' Up Baby
3. Oh Babe
4. Hop, Skip And Jump (Cenco)
5. Succotash
6. My Blue Heaven
7. Baby, Don't Do That To Me
8. Little Boy Blue
9. I Want To Go Home
10. Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
11. That's The One For Me
12. Baby You Don't Know
13. It's Later Than You Think
14. Bam-A-Lam
15. Junior Jumps
16. One Zippy Zam
17. Train Blues
18. Milton's Boogie
19. Fools Are Getting Scarcer
20. Tell It Like It Is
21. A Bird In The Hand
22. Red Light
23. Hop, Skip And Jump (Specialty)
24. I'm A Woman
25. Big Fat Mama
26. Playboy Blues
27. Junior Jives
28. Driveway Blues
29. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
30. Baby I'm Gone
31. What Can I Do

More Info:

Roy Milton - Rocks / A brimful CD compilation dedicated to the important R&B pioneer Roy Milton in the continuously updated 'Rocks' series on Bear Family Recordsr. -Milton is considered one of the originators of the jump blues genre on the U.S. West Coast. -The album features his rockin'est, fast numbers recorded with his great band between 1946 and '63 for such record labels as Specialty, DooTone, King, Warwick, Cenco and Thunderbird. -Musical highlights include Red Light, Milton's Boogie, Hop, Skip And Jump, Junior Jives, You Got Me Reeling And Rocking and Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu. -His 1955 Specialty single What Can I Do is reissued here for the first time on CD. -Johnny 'Junior' Rogers, Roy Gaines and Roy Montrell are three of the outstanding guitarists. -Expertly narrated by Bill Dahl, plus lots of photos and illustrations in the substantial booklet and recordings carefully remastered for this edition. Any comprehensive list of postwar rhythm and blues pioneers has to position Roy Milton and his band, The Solid Senders, right near it's top. The Los Angeles-based Milton was a rock-solid drummer whose rich, full-bodied vocals were perfect for the swinging stormers that comprise Bear Family's 'Roy Milton Rocks.' His combo, anchored by Camille Howard's rippling boogie piano and accentuated by a punchy small horn section (and as time went by, Johnny 'Junior' Rogers' dazzling guitar work), helped define the jump blues genre, which in turn provided an indelible blueprint for the first wave of rock and roll. This compilation spans the band's incredible career from their early days of recording in L.A. with the madly jumping Red Light to their hitmaking heyday on Specialty Records (Milton's Boogie, Hop, Skip, And Jump, Oh Babe!, and the jaw-dropping Rogers-led instrumentals Junior Jives and Junior Jumps are among the highlights) through his mid-'50s hookups with DooTone, a.m.o.