Haydn / Shirvani / Orchestra Notturna Clandestina - Cello-Konzerte | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

"I imagined a 360 degree discovery voyage of the cello, with the intention of showcasing the full range of it's possibilities through a varied and contrasting repertoire. Beginning with great pillars of the cello repertoire like Haydn's C major concerto, which enhances the virtuoso possibilities of the cello with it's classical language, and Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations displaying maximum romanticism, it passes by fiery early twentieth century Spain, and approaches the world of con-temporary music with "Childhood", composed byEnrico Melozzi. "Childhood", a work dedicated to me, explores in particular the entire range of timbres thecello has to offer, from the lowest octave to the most daringly high registers. I always think that the cello is the human voice of the performer and it is for this reason that the idea arose to include instrumental versions of works for voice. In Giovanni Sollima's reckless version for cello and orchestra of "Una voce poco fa" from The Barber of Seville I adore the irony Rossini uses in the role of Rosina. The melancholy of a Persian melody, a popular theme passed down orally by my Iranian grandfather, orchestrated by Enrico Melozzi, devours the cello with it's poignance and sensuality." (Leila Shirvani)