John Holt - Essential Artist Collection - John Holt | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Essential Artist Collection - John Holt
Artist: John Holt
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 03/24/2023
UPC: 4050538862454

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Help Me Make It Through the Night
2. Pledging My Love
3. Stealing Stealing (Thief In the Night)  - By John Holt ; Tommy McCook ; The Supersonics
4. My Heart Is Gone
5. Looking Back
6. I'll Be Lonely  - By John Holt ; Joya Landis
7. I Wanna Dance (May I Have This Dance)
8. Sister Big Stuff  - By John Holt ; The Tommy McCook All Stars
9. My Desire
10. I'll Take a Melody
11. Time and the River
12. Let's Get It While It's Hot
13. Ghetto Queen
14. Reggae from the Ghetto

More Info:

Double vinyl LP pressing. After fronting popular Jamaican vocal trio the Paragons on a succession of best-selling rock steady singles during the late Sixties, John Holt went on to become one of Jamaica's most popular solo performers, scoring a series of reggae hits for many of the island's leading record producers. His international breakthrough came in 1974 with the hugely popular '1000 Volts of Holt' album, which fused raw reggae rhythms with sophisticated orchestral arrangements. The highlight of the long-player was a reworking of Kris Kristoffersson's country hit, 'Help Me Make It Through The Night', which the following year became a global hit, with the single, peaking at Number 6 in the UK charts. Over the years that followed, Holt remained a giant of the reggae scene with further best sellers and numerous sell-out shows around the world. The very best of his solo work has been brought together on this 'Essential Artist' compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records' newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica's best-loved 'foundation' artists. This collection superbly illustrates the talent that made John Holt one of the reggae music's most popular and enduring singers.