Matthew Herbert and London Contemporary Orchestra - The Horse [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition 2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

also available now on RSDMRKT.COM

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. The Horse’s Bones Are In A Cave
2. The Horse’s Hair And Skin Are Stretched
3. The Horse’s Bones Are Flutes
4. The Horse’s Pelvis Is A Lyre
5. The Horse Is Prepared
6. The Horse Is Quiet
7. The Horse Is Submerged
8. The Horse Is Put To Work
9. The Rider (Not The Horse)
10. The Truck That Follows The Horses
11. The Horse’s Winnings
12. The Horse Has A Voice
13. The Horse Remembers
14. The Horse Is Close
15. The Horse Is Here

More Info:

The album, released by Modern Recordings BMG worldwide, will be one continuous piece of music, made with a complete horse skeleton, 30+ musicians, bone flutes, horseskin drums, original mechanical instruments, pelvic lyres, electronics, cement mixer.

With an exploration of music’s origins and rhythm in particular at its heart it will begin quietly and slowly and gradually accelerate throughout, getting bigger and faster until by the end it is in a kind of frenzy. The orchestration will include the bones from a horse skeleton, flutes made from its bones, the traditional instruments of the London Contemporary Orchestra, and sampled recordings of a horse’s life.

It will demonstrate, through the choice of sounds, the story of music from its distant origins in the form of bone flutes (similar to the oldest musical instrument), via more traditional musical instruments to cutting edge electronics and sampling. The opening horse bone flutes, made by Henry Dagg, will be played by Shabaka Hutchings. The final electronics will contain instruments and techniques developed by some of the UK’s most interesting musical inventors.