Koko Mojo Writer Series Leroy Kirkland / Various - Koko Mojo Writer Series Leroy Kirkland / Various | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Larry Darnell - I'll Be Sittin', I'll Be Rockin'
2. Bobby Lewis - Mumbles Blues
3. Sonny Terry - Hooray Hooray
4. Sonny Terry? - Hoopin' and Jumpin'
5. Jimmy Newsome - Do That Thing
6. Jimmie Newsome - I'm Afraid I Love You
7. The Eagles - Don't You Wanna Be Mine
8. Dinah Washington - My Man's An Undertaker
9. Alonzo Scales - She's Gone
10. Dolores Ware - Thrill-La-Dill
11. John Greer - Come Back Maybelline
12. The Prestos - Looking for Love
13. Zilla Mays - Right Now 55
14. Jay Hawkins - Talk About Me
15. Alan Freed - Band Rock 'N Roll Boogie
16. The Pearls - It's Love, Love, Love
17. Bobby Brookes - You'd Better Move
18. Brook Benton - Crinoline Skirt
19. The Equadors - Stay a Little Longer
20. The Strollers - We're Strollin'
21. The Mighty - Jupiters Your Love
22. The Five Keys - Your Teeth and Your Tongue
23. Bobby Guy Good - Enough
24. The Fabulons Give Me Back My Ring
25. Bobby Hendricks Good Lovin'
26. Clyde McPhatter Whole Heap of Love
27. Ruth McFadden - Lovin' Time
28. Yvonne Baker and the Sensations - Party Across the Hall

More Info:

The Songwriter's album Leroy Kirkland Thrill-La-Dill (KM-CD-176) is the first of two independent albums from Koko Mojo Records that endeavour to dig more deeply into Kirkland's legacy and focus on the up-tempo compositions he cast his magic upon. As his legacy is so fast the following companion label album (KM-CD-179) Spotlight on Leroy Kirkland, Good Gracious) continues the story with more wonderful music. The sleeve notes for the Songwriter's album Leroy Kirkland Thrill-La-Dill (KM-CD-176) will provide where available session information, and identified when he led the orchestra and arranged the session. The album is also programmed year by year to illustrate the changing direction of the music from 1952 through to 1962 with twenty-one songs being from the 1950s, and Kirkland was often in the hot seat as arranger and orchestra leader. By intention, we exclude his development years which were musically grounded in jazz, his instrumental recordings as Claude Cloud, and the songs with pop arrangements. We can proudly say we have dug a little deeper into the annals of music history and through intensive research, we can omit many titles which have been often reissued. The album begins in 1952 when he began writing exciting rhythm & blues rockers for soloists; Larry Darnell I'll Be Sittin', I'll Be Rockin', and Bobby Lewis, Mumbles Blues. Kirkland could vary his style and from 1953 he co-inked two stomping blues rockers for Sonny Terry, Hooray Hooray, and Hoopin' And Jumpin', and one year afterwards directed his craft on Jimmy/Jimmie Newsome and two rockin' blues titles, Do That Thing, and I'm Afraid I Love You.