Carl Schilde - Europop (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Top 40
3. Track 3
4. John Stamos
5. Track 5
6. Roadworn
7. Track 7
8. Soft Dads
9. Track 9
10. Landline Pt.I
11. Track 11
12. Landline Pt.2
13. Track 13
14. Phase
15. Track 15
16. the Master Tape
17. Track 17
18. Blue Rinse
19. 1
20. Credits

More Info:

Initially sparked by a disappointing experience in Los Angeles, EUROPOP is Carl Schilde's first solo album. Feeling out of place and out of time in the music world, he started to embrace his own limitations, subverting themes like "making it" and pre-internet nostalgia with a Jim O'Rourke-inspired wink in his eye. While holed up in his Toronto basement, a lifelong obsession with outdated pop trickery and yesteryear's preset sounds launched him into an alternate sonic universe-one where The Beach Boys' late-70s albums were big hits, and long-forgotten Italian soft rock is the style du jour. The resulting ten songs were given their final sheen by mastering impresario Dave Cooley (Tame Impala, Blood Orange, J Dilla). Born and raised in West Berlin sometime in the 80s, Carl has already had several musical incarnations. From a Berlin Art Prize nomination for his single-note vinyl record ("The whole concept makes me upset" - VICE), to glimpsing the album charts by co-writing an aging crooner's magnum opus ("Glamorous" - NY Times), he has always been more interested in exploring different angles than building a career.