Juris Karlsons / Liepaja Symphony Orchestra - Juris Karlsons: Dances Of Life & Death (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: I. Antonija
2. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: II. Skroderi Nak / the Tailors Arrive
3. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: III. Zara
4. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: IV. Pindacisa Un Abrams
5. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: V. Aleksis Un Elina
6. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: VI. Bites / Bees
7. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: VII. Ruda Un Karlena Duets
8. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: VIII Antonija Un Aleksis
9. Suite from the Ballet Antonija #Silmaci: IX. Finals / Finale
10. El Cid. Dzives Un Naves Dejas / El Cid: Dances of Life and Death
11. Jazepa Vizijas / Joseph's Visions

More Info:

This album features world premiere studio recordings of symphonic works by a prominent Latvian composer Juris Karlsons (1948). The varied pieces on this album share a common characteristic: they are linked with the stage, with theatre, and therefore with another kind of art, namely, narrative art. All of the works are rooted in literary compositions as their original message, as their impulse. Juris Karlsons is now among the older generation in Latvian music. He has been active in a wide range of roles as a musician and cultural figure, but above all as a composer in a variety of musical genres. He has also been a pedagogue, served as rector of the Jazeps Vitols Latvian Academy of Music (1990-2007), and earned a Doctor honoris causa degree. The dynamic, diverse and prolific Karlsons has been a prominent public figure in music (consulting, serving on juries, commissions and councils) and was the chairman of the Latvian Composers' Union from 1989 to 1993. He is a recipient of the Order of the Three Stars, 3rd Class. The Liepaja Symphony Orchestra has been sharing the love of music with listeners in Latvia and beyond for more than 140 years. The orchestra's mission is to create a meaningful bond between music and people, making music accessible and enjoyable, and to celebrate our rich cultural heritage through beautiful music at every concert. In 2010, the orchestra acquired the status of a national orchestra, thus becoming a significant ambassador of Latvian culture throughout the world, delighting the audience both with classical music masterpieces at concerts and placing special emphasis on Latvian composers and promoting their works - the orchestra participates in premieres and commissions a significant amount of new works