Haki R. Madhubuti And Nation: Afrikan Liberation - Rise Vision Comin | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. We Are a Nation
2. Talking Stick
3. The Family
4. Black Woman
5. Walk the Way of the New World
6. Collectivity
7. Rise, Vision, Comin
8. Black Man
9. We Wound Each Other

More Info:

If being the founder and chairman of Third World Press Organisation - the largest independent black-owned publishers - wasn't enough for activist and poet Haki R Madhubuti, he is also credited with a lesser-known yet remarkable music career. As the bandleader of Haki R. Madhubuti and Nation: Afrikan Liberation Arts Ensemble, Madhubuti combined his razor-sharp spoken-word poetry with a band of incredible musicians to create an unforgettable experience of avant-garde and spiritual jazz. The first album by the group Rise Vision Comin was released in 1976, and features among others Wallace Roney on trumpet, Clarence Seay on bass and Agyei Akoto on saxophone who also served as creative director. It features 9 tracks with the title track, "Rise, Vision, Comin" a great example of the adhesive comradery between instrumentation and Madhubuti's spoken-word. On the track, they match each other pace for pace and build into frenzy where they finally reach Madhubuti's prophetic words, "We are what we are, We are what we are not, we are what we are going to be".A prominent name in the Black Arts Movement, Haki R Madhubuti to date has published over 20 books with his direct and illuminating form of poetry having shared the same halls as other vital voices in the movement like Audre Lorde and Maya Angelou. P-VINE is thrilled to reissue Rise Vision Comin on limited-edition vinyl with a unique Japanese obi strip, and celebrate the music of Madhubuti's extraordinary career.